Giving up

Today, as a joke, Charlie spit in my face. This was after I was chiding Chris for being grumpy under his breath and dogging Charlie because Charlie was being a nightmare; he needed to get out, he was pulling the dog’s tail and generally being destructive because we were watching the news and cartoons weren’t on. Ugh.

So here I am telling Chris that all the grumping about is not being helpful, I pick Charlie up to get his attention and he spits on me. I immediately spanked him. Okay, call it hitting. Whatever. I was furious and he was gross. And I reacted and didn’t help him and maybe helped me a little. I was so mad. We have told him that spitting is bad because he and Coco do it all the time. Blah, blah, blah. What makes you want to give up?

I heard Chris wanting to give up after that, before that, all day! Charlie didn’t improve much, there was lots of hitting all day (Charlie hitting Coco), lots of the time outs where you have to hold Charlie and they don’t really work because he never really calms down. It was not fun. I wanted to give up.

It makes me wonder about Michelle, whose blog I discovered here:

http://blogs.sun.com/trostler/entry/walter_chokes_child_with_telephone

After her 4 year old son Walter choked a kid at school with a phone cord, she stops blogging. Did she give up? What happened next? That Walter is my Charlie. What happens next!?!

So I wrote her on her deserted blog:

Hi Michelle,
I have no idea if you will get this, but I stumbled upon your blog about 6 mos ago when we were considering going to the Star Center. Your Walter sounds like my Charlie. I would love to know how you are doing, and what has worked for you in your struggle to not give up.
Thanks for sharing this, I think of you often, and it helps me that my kid is not the only one trying to choke others.
Christina

One thought on “Giving up

  1. Keep writing, keep trying, keep loving. I don’t know anything about what you’re going through but I do know YOU, and you’re the only person I know brave enough to get through it. I love you!

Leave a Reply

